Members Sign In

Bob Smith Lectureship


Any member can nominate a candidate. The nomination needs a sponsor within the Executive. Members of the executive are happy to be contacted with your recommended nominee's name.

Bob Smith lectureship 2024

Applications open: 01 Feb 2024

Applications close: 29 Feb 2024

This lectureship is to recognise an individual's leadership and outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge and/or clinical practice in the field of diabetes mellitus and related metabolic diseases in New Zealand.

The recipient will deliver the Dr Bob Smith Lecture at the NZSSD Annual General Meeting.

The next nominations for this lectureship will open on 1 February 2024 and close on 29 February 2024.

This lectureship is awarded in the name of Dr Robert Bernard William Smith, MB ChB (NZ), MRACP, FRACP, who was born in Auckland in 1936 and educated in Palmerston North before attending Medical School at the University of Otago. His training continued at Palmerston North, Wellington and Canberra, Australia. After completing physician training he worked in the British Solomon Islands then Wellington. After further specialist training in diabetes in London in 1975 he returned to Wellington where he spent the rest of his career until retiring in 2002. From 1976 to 2002 he was Physician-in-Charge of the Diabetic Services at Wellington Hospital. He is universally respected and fondly remembered by patients and staff, and is responsible for educating and inspiring a whole generation of diabetes clinicians across multiple disciplines as they came through the Wellington diabetes service.  He is particularly remembered for his inclusive approach to multidisciplinary care of people with diabetes.

Dr Smith was one of the founding members of NZSSD in 1976 and served on the executive on more than one occasion including as the first secretary and then president in 1981 and 1982. Dr Smith was also responsible for the production of the society newsletter “NewSweet” for many years including the very first edition in 1977. He always attended and contributed to the annual scientific meeting unless clinical responsibilities precluded this. Dr Smith was made a life member of the society in 1995.

Recipients of the award are:
2016 - Dr Paul Drury
2018 - Dr Tim Cundy
2021 - Dr Helen Lunt

More Information